jackidunn

Top 16 Rainy Day Movies

I absolutely love rainy days, because it means I get to sit inside and laze around as much as I want to. As such, I’m kind of an expert on rainy day activities.

Here’s my top 16 movies, if you need some inspiration for how to spend your own rainy afternoon.

(random fact: anytime I use the word ‘inspiration,’ I always want to say it like Dave Barnes in this video.)

16. Pride and Prejudice

This one is an obvious pick… But it’s still perfect. I can watch it 8 times in 3 days and still want to watch it again.

15. 27 Dresses

Sometimes you want something a little brighter and more colorful on dreary days.

14. Sinbad

For the more childlike side of you, this one is a relatively obscure animated movie… But with the voices of Brad Pitt, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, you really can’t go wrong.

13. One Fine Day

Another Michelle Pfeiffer, with the addition of George Clooney. Premise: Two single parents with busy lives and full time careers try to keep everything from falling apart… The whole day is rainy and everything is going wrong, but it ends with everyone falling in love. Of course.

12. Love Story

Featuring Ryan O’Neal before he got all wrinkled and puffy… It’s the originator of “love means never having to say you’re sorry.” Keep a box of tissues handy, you’re gonna need ’em.

11. Singing in the Rain

Maybe an obvious choice for a rainy day, but Gene Kelly and Debbie Reynolds are magic.

10. Gilmore Girls

Fine, it’s not a movie. But it is the equivalent if you watch a whole disc in one sitting.

Aww, who are we kidding? You know you are going to watch a whole season.

9. Time Travelers Wife

So poignant, so lovely. Again, keep tissues nearby.

8. Finding Neverland

I’m sensing a theme in my movie choices.. Another tearjerker, but this one has some incredible lines… Not to mention Johnny Depp.

7. Chocolat

Perfect color theme for a rainy day… Everything in the French village is in neutral tones, even the people.. Until the red caped entrance of a woman and her child… aaaand chocolate! Johnny Depp is in this one too, although definitely not a major character… Pretty sure there was no reason to put him on the cover. Whatevs.

6. Alex and Emma

Luke Wilson before his face got fat and a mousy Kate Hudson in a fun flash-sideways type of romantic comedy… Have to love the 1920’s flair.

5. French Kiss

This one is great if you are a single lady coming off a break up. Let Meg take you through the post-split emotions and craziness, and sit back and enjoy how ridiculous Kevin Kline can be.

4. Sleepless in Seattle

Fine, I’m obsessed with Meg Ryan. But c’mon…. “It was.. Magic.”  Turn this one into a double feature by watching An Affair to Remember first. “Winter must be cold with no warm memories…. We’ve already missed the spring.”

3. Casablanca

Love lost, found, and lost again… It’s classic, it’s incredible, and it’s hilarious. “Yvonne, I love you, but he pays me.”

2. When Harry Met Sally

Since Casablanca figures so significantly into this movie, I would encourage you to make it a double feature. Plus, the amazing old couples sprinkled throughout the movie…

1. You’ve Got Mail

Because I love Meg Ryan, and I love Tom Hanks, and because it’s the best movie ever made. Everrrrr. Don’t argue with me. The rhythm, the poetic lines, the perfectness of every single second…

So go get in your oversized sweatshirt, leggings, and slipper booties and curl up with a bowl of coffee and enjoy the wonderful overcast skies from the warmth of your couch.

One comment on “Top 16 Rainy Day Movies

  1. Paul S
    11.1st.13

    I can’t believe I’ve come across your post 2 years late but I definitely agree with your choices on this one.

    I love Meg in Sleepless, and in When Harry Met Sally, and many other roles (Prelude to a Kiss, Addicted to Love, Flesh and Bone…) Meg and Tom were also both fantastic in Joe vs. The Volcano. That is such an underrated classic. And I absolutely love You’ve Got Mail…the last really good Meg Ryan flick in my opinion. Outside of my youthful crush on Michelle Pfeiffer, Meg was my first and I’ll always love her even though she hasn’t aged gracefully and has made bad film choices of late. I’m in the mood for a Meg fest now…might have to do that really soon.

Whatcha think?

Information

This entry was posted on 10.9th.11 by in All Blog Posts, TV.
