jackidunn

whoops

The great thing about not updating my blog since making New Years Resolutions is that it makes it really easy to look back on them and see how I have failed.

Movies: Unknown fail.

I don’t think I remembered that resolution after I typed it out. I don’t even know what I meant by it. No more going to see movies in theaters? Stay away from my dvd collection? Or movies on tv? There’s no telling.

Fried food: Semi-fail

I knew this was going to be a toughie. I think I made it a month without eating any fried food. The next month, I was mostly avoiding fried food, with minimal indiscretions. After that, my moral compass stopped registering guilt, though my tightening budget did keep me from going off the deep end.

Clean Kitchen: Mostly win

This one gets the blue ribbon. I haven’t been completely faithful to have a clean kitchen every night, but I’d give it a 80%. Marked improvement from years past.

And isn’t that what it’s all about?

Why are we so caught up with immediate gratification… And wanting the perfect results with minimal effort? Why can’t we be content in the process of it? That mess of being imperfect.

There’s something so sweet about not having it all together, but in being loved by the One who does… The One who died for my mess before I even knew Him. The One who continues to pick up after me, ever patiently, ever lovingly, so that I may approach the throne of the King of Kings and be called ‘daughter.’

And if I tried to get my mess together on my own, I wouldn’t know Him as deeply as I do; I wouldn’t know Him at all. I’d be ignoring the very essence of who He is and what He has done for me.

So I’ll continue making resolutions.. I’ll have goals, aspirations, hopes…. But I’ll rest in the knowledge that my success or failure won’t change who I am in His eyes.

Whatcha think?

Information

This entry was posted on 5.18th.11 by in Faith, Uncategorized.
